A step by step guide how to completely delete a Facebook account

In : 

Digital World

Last Updated : 12/03/2018

It is not difficult how to completely delete a Facebook account. Facebook gives us two option for this. You can either deactivate or permanently delete your account. If you think to reactivate your account in the future, choose the deactivate option. Otherwise, you can permanently delete your Facebook account with all data. Here I am going to explain both options step by step with screenshots.

Note: Screenshots taken in February 2018. Some option or design may be changed.

A step by step guide how to completely delete a Facebook account

How to permanently delete your Facebook account

If you think you do not want Facebook anymore, you can go with this option. Once, you request a delete account, Facebook takes 14 days to remove it. If you try to logging after deletion request within a few days, Facebook will activate your account automatically. So, don’t try to check your account is deleted or not. Facebook may take up to 90 days to permanently delete your account and its data.

Once, you delete your account, you never reactivate or backup your data. So, first I suggest you download your Facebook data.

How to delete a Facebook account

  1. Click on the arrow icon on the top-right side of a Facebook page.
  2. Select “Setting“.
  3. In “General Account Settings”, choose “Manage account” and click on “Download a copy of your Facebook data” link.
  4. Delete a Facebook account by visiting “Delete my Account“.

You can find labeled steps in below screenshot.

How to permanently delete your Facebook account with screenshot

How to deactivate your Facebook account

If you deactivate your account, people would not be able to search your profile or see your timeline. But some information may be visible. Like, messages you sent to your friends.

If you want to reactivate your account, you can do this at any time. Just you need to logging by email ID and password. Remember, you need your registered email access for reactivating your account.

How to deactivate a Facebook account

  1. Click on the arrow icon on the top-right side of a Facebook page.
  2. Click on “Setting” link.
  3. In “General Account Settings”, choose “Manage account”.
  4. Scroll down your page and click on “Deactivate your account” then follow the steps to confirm.

You can find labeled steps in below screenshot.

How to deactivate your Facebook account with screenshot

Did you find this article helpful? Which option did you follow? Have you any suggestion? Let me know in the comments!

Here are some articles that you should read next
Authored By Ganpat Desai
Ganpat Desai - Founder & Blogger

Ganpat is a software engineer and blogger. He has 4 years of experience and he is an expert on Web & software development and Digital Marketing. As a founder, He is driving the visions of his all businesses. He also spends free time in agricultural work. You can read more detail here.

Got Something To Say

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

2 Comments on “A step by step guide how to completely delete a Facebook account”

  1. Gannu:

    Great!!!!!
    Your article is very useful for me…
    Thank u sir

    1. Kinjal Ganpat:

      👍👍👍👍